Logo: FYE - For Your Entertainment
FREE SHIPPING on CD & Movie Orders Over $40 See Details
Navigation Toggle

Sell your copy

close   X

I Confess

Format: DVD     Release Date: 09/07/2004
Buy New

Availability: In Stock

Reg. Price: $14.99
On Sale: $12.98

Member Price: $11.68

add to wishlist

Buy Used

Reg. Price: $4.99

Member Price: $4.49

add to wishlist

When purchasing used items, DVDs & Blu-ray include disc, cover art, and case. Bonus downloadable or promotional content may have already been redeemed. Promotional items (3-D glasses, figurines, t-shirts, posters, jewelry, books or other non-media items) may not be included. Cleaning and repair was done as required.
Based on the turn-of-the-century play +Our Two Consciences by Paul Anthelme, Hitchcock's I Confess is set in Quebec. Montgomery Clift plays a priest who hears the confession of church sexton O.E. Hasse. "I...killed...a man" whispers Hasse in tight closeup--and, bound by the laws of the Confessional, Clift is unable to turn Hasse over to the police. But police-inspector Karl Malden has a pretty good idea who the guilty party is: all evidence points to Clift. It seems that the dead man had been blackmailing Anne Baxter, who was once in a factually innocent, but seemingly exploitable compromising position with Clift. Tried for murder, Clift is released due to lack of evidence, but he is ruined in the eyes of the community. Then it is Hasse's turn to make that One Fatal Error. I Confess is frequently dismissed as a lesser Hitchcock, due mainly to the quirky performance of Montgomery Clift (who, it is said, steadfastly refused to take direction). Today, four decades removed from its on-set intrigues, the film has taken its place as one of the best of Hitchcock's "between the classics" efforts. ~ Hal Erickson, Rovi

Side #1 --

1. Credits and a Pedestrian. [2:00]
2. Church Encounter [3:10]
3. I Have Killed [3:08]
4. How Fortunate We Are [4:01]
5. Crime Scene [3:33]
6. Easy to Be Good [3:38]
7. What Two Schoolgirls Saw [5:28]
8. Not Possible to Answer [6:15]
9. A Woman in Love [5:02]
10. Ferry Rendezvous [3:29]
11. Determined to Explain [6:19]
12. A Matter of Blackmail [2:09]
13. Young Lovers [4:16]
14. Rain-Soaked Reunion [3:42]
15. Dealing With Vilette [3:17]
16. What Have I Done? [2:45]
17. Killer and Confessor [3:17]
18. Through Quebec's Streets [4:21]
19. On Trial [4:10]
20. Caught in a Storm [6:39]
21. The Verdict [3:11]
22. Hostile Mob [1:59]
23. The Killer Revealed [3:40]
24. A Man Alone [3:58]
25. Final Confession [:53]
  • Format: DVD
  • Release Date: September 07, 2004
  • MPAA Rating: NR
  • Region: 1
  • Studio: Warner Home Video
  • Length: 94 minutes
  • Sound: dd1
  • Format: Black & White
  • Discs: 1
  • Language: English
  • Subtitles: English, French, Spanish
  • UPC: 085393186326
  • Product ID: 2428592
  • Genre: Drama

For More Entertainment

Join our mailing list:

Order Information

Shipping & Returns

Need Help?