Logo: FYE - For Your Entertainment
FREE SHIPPING on CD & Movie Orders Over $40 See Details
Navigation Toggle

Sell your copy

close   X

Butley [Widescreen]

Format: DVD     Release Date: 04/01/2003
Buy New

Availability: In Stock

Reg. Price: $29.99
On Sale: $25.98

Member Price: $23.38

add to wishlist

Notify Me

Reg. Price: $6.99

Member Price: $6.29

add to wishlist

When purchasing used items, DVDs & Blu-ray include disc, cover art, and case. Bonus downloadable or promotional content may have already been redeemed. Promotional items (3-D glasses, figurines, t-shirts, posters, jewelry, books or other non-media items) may not be included. Cleaning and repair was done as required.
The American Film Theatre has made movies of a number of significant theatrical performances, including Laurence Olivier's Othello. Another of these filmed theatricals is Simon Gray's Butley, which was brought to the screen by playwright Harold Pinter, and which features an astonishing performance by Alan Bates. The story focuses on one very bad day in the life of Butley (Bates), a feisty, sharp-tongued, lazy and pathetic professor of English. His professional ascendancy is challenged by a slick, accomplished woman many years his junior; his ex-wife gives him conniptions when she announces her remarriage to someone he cannot bear; and his male lover of several years chooses this time to announce that he is leaving him for a sweeter-tempered but very ordinary man of the sort Butley despises. Bleak though this sounds, Butley's unconquerable wit and biting repartee transform this otherwise tragic tale into something of a celebration of survival. ~ Clarke Fountain, Rovi

Side #1 --

1. Opening Titles [4:30]
2. Office Mates [7:55]
3. "Straight Abuse" [7:47]
4. "You're Looking Furtive" [12:47]
5. A Chat With Edna [7:41]
6. "This Hash My Life" [9:37]
7. "Do You Want Us Back" [10:47]
8. "A Frozen Soul" [7:04]
9. Joey's Secret [7:45]
10. "What About Edna?" [7:03]
11. A Drink With Reg [20:07]
12. "A Fraction of a Faker" [8:34]
13. A Rehearsed Goodbye [8:47]
14. "Breaking New Ground" [6:55]
15. End Credits [1:52]
  • Format: DVD
  • Release Date: April 01, 2003
  • MPAA Rating: R
  • Studio: Kino
  • Length: 129 minutes
  • Format: Wide Screen Enhanced (16x9)
  • Discs: 1
  • Language: English
  • UPC: 738329027827
  • Product ID: 2232146
  • Genre: Drama

For More Entertainment

Join our mailing list:

Order Information

Shipping & Returns

Need Help?