Logo: FYE - For Your Entertainment
FREE SHIPPING on CD & Movie Orders Over $40 See Details
Navigation Toggle

Sell your copy

close   X

Young Girls Of Rochefort

Format: DVD     Release Date: 01/22/2002
Notify Me

Availability: Out of stock

Reg. Price: $19.99
On Sale: $16.98

Member Price: $15.28

add to wishlist

Buy Used

Reg. Price: $12.99

Member Price: $11.69

add to wishlist

When purchasing used items, DVDs & Blu-ray include disc, cover art, and case. Bonus downloadable or promotional content may have already been redeemed. Promotional items (3-D glasses, figurines, t-shirts, posters, jewelry, books or other non-media items) may not be included. Cleaning and repair was done as required.
Jacques Demy directed this frothy tribute to the Hollywood musicals of the 1940s, a follow-up to his earlier success The Umbrellas of Cherbourg (1964). Twin sisters Delphine and Solange (played by real-life sisters Catherine Deneuve and Françoise Dorleac) live in the small coastal town of Rochefort, where they run a school teaching dancing and music. Both feel frustrated in Rochefort, and they dream of travelling to Paris, where they believe romance and opportunity awaits them. Meanwhile, their single mother, Yvonne (Danielle Darrieux), who runs a cafe in town, pines for her lost love, Simon (Michel Piccoli). One day, one of Yvonne's regular customers, a sailor with an artistic bent named Maxence (Jacques Perrin), shows her a painting of the imaginary girl of his dreams, and she looks just like Delphine, whom he's never met. Meanwhile, Simon has returned to Rochefort, bringing with him a close friend, American pianist Andy Miller (Gene Kelly); Simon has made friends with Solange and introduces her to Andy, who immediately falls in love with her. Sadly, Les Demoiselles de Rochefort was Françoise Dorleac's last film; she died in an auto accident shortly after completing the picture. ~ Mark Deming, Rovi

Side #1 --

0. Chapter Selection
1. Opening Credits: Setting Up in the Square [8:46]
2. A Pair of Twins [5:05]
3. Seeking the Feminine Ideal [7:05]
4. Making a Friendly Break [6:54]
5. "They Call Us Carnies" [4:03]
6. "The Face I'm Thinking Of" [4:16]
7. Mr. Dame's Silly Name [7:11]
8. Crazy for a Girl [4:56]
9. Leaving the Boys [4:46]
10. "Living Amid Memories" [7:47]
11. "I Met My Dream Man" [5:27]
12. "Sing Today, Dance Tonight!" [7:43]
13. Everyone's out on the Street [8:30]
14. Singing With an Old Friend [5:37]
15. Meeting for Dinner [4:13]
16. Presenting the Garnier Sisters [8:37]
17. "Always the Same Refrain" [6:22]
18. Preparing for Paris [4:50]
19. Crossing Paths [10:48]
20. End Credits [1:42]
  • Format: DVD
  • Release Date: January 22, 2002
  • MPAA Rating: G
  • Region: All
  • Studio: Miramax
  • Length: 163 minutes
  • Sound: Dolby Digital Stereo
  • Format: Wide Screen Enhanced (16x9)
  • Discs: 1
  • Language: English
  • Subtitle: English
  • UPC: 717951005007
  • Product ID: 2160709
  • Genre: Musical, Romance

For More Entertainment

Join our mailing list:

Order Information

Shipping & Returns

Need Help?