Logo: FYE - For Your Entertainment
FREE SHIPPING on CD & Movie Orders Over $40 See Details
Navigation Toggle

Sell your copy

close   X


Format: DVD     Release Date: 03/07/2000
Notify Me

Availability: Out of stock

Reg. Price: $39.99
On Sale: $33.98

Member Price: $30.58

add to wishlist

When purchasing used items, DVDs & Blu-ray include disc, cover art, and case. Bonus downloadable or promotional content may have already been redeemed. Promotional items (3-D glasses, figurines, t-shirts, posters, jewelry, books or other non-media items) may not be included. Cleaning and repair was done as required.
The Sacrifice, director Andrei Tarkovsky's final film, begins in Bergmanesque fashion on a small, remote island, where friends and family gather for drama critic Alexander's (Erland Josephson) birthday celebration. The revelry is interrupted by a radio announcement: World War III has begun, and Mankind is only hours away from utter annihilation. Each of the guests reacts differently to the news: the most dramatic response is Alexander's, who promises God that he'll give up everything he holds dear--including his beloved 6-year-old son -- if war is averted. Allan Edwall, a local mailman with purported mystical powers, offers to intervene with the Creator on Josephson's behalf. The Sacrifice is so dependent upon its visuals and overall mood that any attempt at a detailed synopsis would be woefully inadequate. The willingness of Tarkovsky's protagonist to forego all his possessions may well have sprung from the cancer-ridden director's awareness that he, too, would soon be giving up everything to face his Maker. The Sacrifice won four awards at the ~Cannes Film Festival, including the Grand Prix. ~ Hal Erickson, Rovi

Side #1 --

1. Opening Titles [5:33]
2. Birthday Philosophy [16:02]
3. The Shame of the Actor [8:04]
4. Otto's Gift [13:47]
5. Chaos [11:09]
6. Anguish and Fear [15:04]
7. Prayer of Sacrifice [8:52]
8. "Go to Maria" [16:52]
9. Visiting the Witch [14:55]
10. Awakening [12:48]
11. The Ultimate Inferno [14:06]
12. "In the Beginning" [5:24]
1. Opening Titles [:39]
2. Time in Cinema [8:01]
3. Collaborative Spirit [11:53]
4. Conception Vs. Realization [6:12]
5. Psychology of Characters [9:28]
6. Truthful Acting [11:16]
7. Dream and Reality [13:25]
8. Evilness in Man [9:51]
9. The Purpose of Art [5:58]
10. The Upcompromising Climax [15:02]
11. "A Time to be Born, and a Time to Die" [9:41]
  • Format: DVD
  • Release Date: March 07, 2000
  • MPAA Rating:
  • Studio: Kino
  • Length: 246 minutes
  • Discs: 1
  • Language: rus
  • Subtitle: English
  • UPC: 738329014926
  • Product ID: 1538516
  • Genre: Drama

For More Entertainment

Join our mailing list:

Order Information

Shipping & Returns

Need Help?