Logo: FYE - For Your Entertainment
FREE SHIPPING on CD & Movie Orders Over $40 See Details
Navigation Toggle

Sell your copy

close   X

Cat on a Hot Tin Roof [Widescreen]

Format: DVD     Release Date: 01/27/2000
Notify Me

Availability: Out of stock

Reg. Price: $19.99
On Sale: $16.98

Member Price: $15.28

add to wishlist

Buy Used

Reg. Price: $4.99

Member Price: $4.49

add to wishlist

When purchasing used items, DVDs & Blu-ray include disc, cover art, and case. Bonus downloadable or promotional content may have already been redeemed. Promotional items (3-D glasses, figurines, t-shirts, posters, jewelry, books or other non-media items) may not be included. Cleaning and repair was done as required.
This dynamic and commanding adaptation of Tennessee Williams' Pulitzer Prize-winning play focuses on a troubled Southern family and the discord over their dying father's millions. Wealthy plantation owner Big Daddy Pollitt (Burl Ives), celebrating his 65th birthday, is visited by his sons, Brick (Paul Newman) and Gooper (Jack Carson). He has cancer, but a doctor has deliberately and falsely declared it in remission. Seemingly perfect son Gooper and his wife, Mae (Madeleine Sherwood), have several children and are anxiously expecting to inherit Daddy's millions. By contrast, Big Daddy's "favorite," Brick, is a has-been football star who's taken to drinking his days away since the suicide of his "best friend" a year earlier. He resents his wife, Maggie (Elizabeth Taylor), because he believes that she had an affair with his deceased friend. As a result, he refuses to sleep with her, although she remains devoted to him. Since Brick and Maggie have failed to produce any grandchildren, Big Daddy is inclined to leave his estate to Gooper, but Maggie attempts to prevent that by telling him that she is pregnant. Big Daddy knows better, yet he recognizes that Maggie loves Brick so much that she would be willing to do anything for him. Although Brick is self-destructive and resentful, unable to come to terms with his losses, it takes Big Daddy's recognition of his own mortality to make Brick change his perspective. Brick's struggle with his sexual identity, and the nature of his relationship with his "friend," had to be toned down for mass consumption, although this intelligently written and acted film covers such topics as infertility, adultery, and alcoholism that were still considered taboo in the 1950s. Newman brings depth and feeling to the role as Brick, while Taylor succeeds brilliantly in portraying Maggie as a passionate and understanding woman despite her own real-life emotional turmoil over the death of her husband at the time, producer Mike Todd. ~ Don Kaye, Rovi

Side #1-- Standard

0. Side #1-- Standard
1. Logos/Main Title. [1:52]
2. Falling like a brick. [1:37]
3. Maggie serves ice cream. [5:10]
4. Cat on a hot tin roof. [5:15]
5. Big Daddy's return. [4:52]
6. Occupying the same cage. [4:20]
7. Big Mama interrupts. [3:34]
8. "He's gonna die". [1:48]
9. The no-neck choir. [2:21]
10. "Maggie the Cat is alive". [7:29]
11. The party comes to Brick. [4:57]
12. Breaking Mama's heart. [1:57]
13. Getting frank with Brick. [3:58]
14. Disgust and mendacity. [4:21]
15. Brick remembers Skipper. [3:54]
16. Maggie is called. [6:59]
17. "I let him down". [3:14]
18. Exchange of truths. [2:54]
19. "I hurt him, Maggie". [2:38]
20. Family discussion. [1:59]
21. "I want Brick". [2:03]
22. Mama and the truth. [2:13]
23. Confiding in Maggie. [2:42]
24. The presence of malice. [2:20]
25. In the cellar. [2:59]
26. "Worthless". [5:12]
27. "Look at me as I am". [2:38]
28. Big Daddy's daddy. [5:46]
29. The storm inside. [2:09]
30. A kitten for the Cat?. [1:38]
31. "You ripped him apart". [1:30]
32. Brick calls to Maggie. [1:23]

Side #2 --Widescreen

1. Logos/Main Title [1:52]
2. Falling like a brick [1:37]
3. Maggie serves ice cream [5:10]
4. Cat on a hot tin roof [5:15]
5. Big Daddy's return [4:52]
6. Occupying the same cage [4:20]
7. Big Mama Interrupts [3:34]
8. "He's Gonna Die" [1:48]
9. The no-neck choir [2:21]
10. "Maggie the Cat is alive" [7:29]
11. The party comes to brick [4:57]
12. Breaking Mama's Heart [1:57]
13. Getting Frank with Brick [3:58]
14. Disgust and Mendacity [4:21]
15. Brick remembers Skipper [3:54]
16. Maggie is Called [6:59]
17. "I let him down" [3:14]
18. Exchange of truths [2:54]
19. "I hurt him, Maggie" [2:38]
20. Family Discussion [1:59]
21. "I want Brick " [2:03]
22. Mama and the truth [2:13]
23. Confiding in Maggie [2:42]
24. The presence of malice [2:20]
25. In the cellar [2:59]
26. "Worthless" [5:12]
27. "Looko at me as I am" [2:38]
28. Big Daddy's daddy [5:46]
29. The storm inside [2:09]
30. A kitten for the Cat? [1:38]
31. "You ripped him apart" [1:30]
32. Brick calls to Maggie [1:23]
  • Format: DVD
  • Release Date: January 27, 2000
  • MPAA Rating: NR
  • Region: 1
  • Studio: Warner Home Video
  • Length: 108 minutes
  • Sound: Monaural
  • Formats: Pan & Scan, Wide Screen Enhanced (16x9)
  • Discs: 1
  • Languages: English, French
  • Subtitles: English, French, Spanish
  • UPC: 012569507524
  • Product ID: 1013939
  • Genre: Drama

For More Entertainment

Join our mailing list:

Order Information

Shipping & Returns

Need Help?