Logo: FYE - For Your Entertainment
FREE SHIPPING on CD & Movie Orders Over $40 See Details
Navigation Toggle

Sell your copy

close   X

Autumn Sonata [Criterion Collection]

Format: DVD     Release Date: 01/18/2000
Notify Me

Availability: Out of stock

Reg. Price: $39.99
On Sale: $33.98

Member Price: $30.58

add to wishlist

Notify Me

Reg. Price: $9.99

Member Price: $8.99

add to wishlist

When purchasing used items, DVDs & Blu-ray include disc, cover art, and case. Bonus downloadable or promotional content may have already been redeemed. Promotional items (3-D glasses, figurines, t-shirts, posters, jewelry, books or other non-media items) may not be included. Cleaning and repair was done as required.
Ingrid Bergman, the Swedish expatriate who became one of Hollywood's greatest stars, and Ingmar Bergman, one of the world's most acclaimed filmmakers and Sweden's most honored director, worked together for the first and only time in this intensely personal drama about the troubled relationship between a mother and daughter. Charlotte (Ingrid Bergman) is an acclaimed concert pianist who is visiting her daughter Eva (Liv Ullmann), the wife of a parson in a rural community, for the first time in seven years. While Charlotte and Eva struggle to be civil, there is a deep emotional gulf between them. Eva resents her mother for not caring enough for her as a child, feeling that Charlotte was more interested in her career and her other daughter, Helena (Lena Nyman), who is severely handicapped and can only communicate through inarticulate noises. Charlotte, on the other hand, is uncomfortable with the fact that Helena now lives with Eva, and she is still coming to terms with the emotional devastation of her husband's recent death. Herbstsonate, released in America as Autumn Sonata, earned Ingrid Bergman some of the most enthusiastic acclaim of her career; she received an Oscar nomination for Best Actress, and she won the same honor from the National Board of Review and the New York Film Critics Circle. It was also her last theatrical release; she would appear in only one more project, a TV movie about the life of Golda Meir, before her death in 1982. ~ Mark Deming, Rovi


0. Chapters
1. Logos/Opening credits [:16]
2. Introducing Eva [2:01]
3. Dear Mama [2:53]
4. Charlotte visits [1:28]
5. Catching up [2:02]
6. "I've thought of you...every day" [6:59]
7. A guilty conscience [2:37]
8. London calling [5:11]
9. Prelude no. 2 in A minor [2:19]
10. Charlotte plays [3:32]
11. The line between life and death [4:53]
12. "...incapable Of Loving" [3:22]
13. Eva spoils Charlotte [4:11]
14. A touch in the night [3:25]
15. Revelation after dark [3:01]
16. Eva's childhood [4:36]
17. Charlotte's defense [7:00]
18. Hatred and silence [3:59]
19. Absent faces [8:04]
20. Suite no. 4 for cello in E-fla [4:53]
21. "Mama! Come!" [4:32]
22. Two meditations [4:07]
23. "It must not be too late" [4:40]
  • Format: DVD
  • Release Date: January 18, 2000
  • MPAA Rating: NR
  • Region: 1
  • Studio: Criterion
  • Length: 92 minutes
  • Sound: Dolby Digital w/ sub-woofer channel (5.1), Monaural
  • Discs: 1
  • Language: English
  • Subtitle: English
  • UPC: 037429126127
  • Product ID: 1010598
  • Genre: Drama

For More Entertainment

Join our mailing list:

Order Information

Shipping & Returns

Need Help?